Registration Now Open for the Southern Arizona Triple 50

We just opened registration for the Southern Arizona Triple 50 — a unique challenge for ultra runners looking to finish all three of Southern Arizona’s 50-mile events in a single season: Colossal Vail 50 (December 7); Oracle Rumble 50 (January 25); and Old Pueblo 50 (March 1). Discounted registration is available when you sign up for all three before October 1, plus everyone who finishes all events under 45 hours will receive a custom race garment, a certificate of badassedness, your name and finish time on the Triple 50 website, and an invitation to the Triple 50 fiesta in April.


As with all Arizona Trail Endurance Events, discounts are available for Arizona Trail Association members, military veterans and Native Americans. Contact for the coupon code before registering if you qualify.

Big thanks to Angela Greynolds and Stephen Woodall of Team Woodall at Long Realty for their ongoing sponsorship of the Southern Arizona Triple 50.

Triple 50 Awards Fiesta

On May 11, ultra runners from throughout southern Arizona gathered at Borderlands Brewing to celebrate the 13 individuals who completed the Southern Arizona Triple 50 in 2017-18. Custom embroidered Salomon running jackets were given to all award recipients, along with a commemorative Triple 50 poster from Cirrus Visual Communication. Kevin Cross, the fastest person to complete all three 50-mile events, was also given a Royal Robbins polo shirt and an AZT mug.

The Southern Arizona Triple 50 has grown from 3 finishers in its first year to 13! Who’s up for the challenge in 2018-19? The first event in the series is happening on November 10.


Back row (l-r): Colossal-Vail 50/50 Race Committee Member Mike Duer; Julia Kemper (5th female); Arizona Trail Association Executive Director Matt Nelson; Deron Ruse (4th male); Wieke De Boer (4th); Rachel Dockender (2nd); Steve Greenwell (3rd); Kevin Cross (1st).

Front row (l-r): Old Pueblo 50 Race Director Bob Bachani; Oracle Rumble Race Director Steve Outridge; James Sinclair (7th); Nathan Warner (2nd); Robert Harris (8th).

Not pictured: Tonya Littlehales (1st); Holly Hovious (3rd); Trahern Jones (5th); Jason Butler (6th).